26.9 C
Port Louis
Thursday, February 22, 2024

Download The App:

Read in French


Environmental Awards 2023 Organised To Mark World Environment Day

Must Read

The Ministry of Environment, Solid Waste Management and Climate Change, organised, Tuesday, the Environmental Awards 2023 to commemorate the World Environment Day (WED) 2023, at the Caudan Arts Centre in Port-Louis.

World Environment Day is celebrated annually on 05 June. The theme retained for this year is “Solutions to Plastic Pollution” and the campaign for WED 2023 will use the hashtag and slogan #BeatPlasticPollution.

Environmental Awards 2023 Organised To Mark World Environment Day

The President of the Republic of Mauritius, Mr Prithvirajsing Roopun, the Minister of Environment, Solid Waste Management and Climate Change, Mr Kavydass Ramano, and other eminent personalities were present on this occasion.

In his keynote address, President Roopun highlighted that this award is designed to recognise and honour the efforts and innovative practices of various public and private institutions having made outstanding contributions to the preservation and protection of Mauritius’ natural heritage. “Such an event has become imperative in order to promote a more ethical way of living, advocate a more sustainable use of our resources, encourage recycling and re-use while combating wastage,” he pointed out.

The Ministry of Environment, Solid Waste Management and Climate Change organised this Awards Ceremony for the celebration of World Environment Day in Mauritius. The awards aim to recognise and publicise the best environmental initiatives of local institutions and encourage similar future endeavours for a cleaner, greener, and safer Mauritius. For this first edition of the Environmental Awards, a total of 149 entries was received and a panel of independent judges was set up for each sector to assess the entries.

Environmental Awards 2023 Organised To Mark World Environment Day

Eleven thematic sectors were retained, namely: textile manufacturing industry; food manufacturing industry; supermarkets/hypermarkets; media; Non-Governmental Organisations; waste and resource management; financial; tourism; local authorities; public sector and; educational institutions. Awards were remitted as follows:

Food and Beverage Manufacturing

  • Winners: Phoenix Beverages Ltd and, Foods Worth Ltd;
  • First Runners-Up: Omnicane Limited and, V. Kaunhye Health Foods Ltd;
  • Second Runner-Up: Avipro Co. Limited.

Best Sustainable Tourist Accommodations & Hotels

  • Winners: The Good Life and, La Pirogue Hotel;
  • First Runners-Up: Aurelia Lodge and, Zilwa Attitude;
  • Second Runners-Up: West Sand Ltd, Cannonier Beachcomber and, Heritage Awali Golf & Spa Resort.

Textile Manufacturing Industry

  • Winners: Ferney Spinning Mills Ltd, and International Trimmings and Labels (M) Ltd Mauritius;
  • First Runner-Up: Laguna Clothing (Mtius) Ltd.

Non-Governmental Organisations

  • Winners: Mauritius Wildlife Foundation and, F.A.L.C.O.N Association;
  • First Runners-Up: Association pour le Développement and, Mission Verte;
  • Second Runners-Up: Coral Garden Conservation and, New Invaders Club.

Local Authorities

  • Winner: The City Council of Port-Louis;
  • First Runner-Up: The District Council of Moka;
  • Second Runner-Up: The District Council of Black River.

Public Sector

  • Winner: Airport of Mauritius Co. Ltd;
  • First Runner-Up: Mauritius Telecom;
  • Second Runners-Up: Central Electricity Board and, Small Farmers Welfare Fund.


  • Winner: Miss Jenna Ramoo from Le Dimanche l’Hebdo/Défi Media;
  • First Runner Up: Mauritius Broadcasting Corporation.

Waste and Resource Management

  • Winners: Sofap Ltd and, Bronze Brothers Ltd;
  • First Runner-Up: BEM Recycling;
  • Second Runner-Up: Morivert.

Banking/Finance Sector

  • Winners: Cim Financial Services Ltd and, Mauritius Commercial Bank Ltd;
  • First Runner-Up: Hong Kong & Shanghai Banking Corporation Ltd;
  • Second Runner-Up: AfrAsia Bank Ltd.

Supermarkets & Hypermarkets

  • Winners: Udis Ltee – Super U Flacq and, Panagora Marketing Ltd;
  • First Runner-Up: Pick & Buy Victoria Ltd.

Educational Institutions

  • Winners: Ming Tek Kindergarten, Grand Sable Government School, Northfields International School and, Université des Mascareignes;
  • First Runners-Up: On the Rock Preschool, Roche Terre Government School, Loreto College Curepipe and, Honoris Educational Network;
  • Second Runners-Up: Petit Raffray Government School and, Royal College Port Louis.
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles