26.3 C
Port Louis
Friday, September 22, 2023

Download The App:

Read in French


Winners Of National Innovator Hall Of Fame Initiative Rewarded

Must Read

The award ceremony of the National Innovator Hall of Fame, organised by the Ministry of Information Technology, Communication and Innovation in collaboration with the Mauritius Research and Innovation Council (MRIC), was held, on Saturday 3 June 2023, at Le Meridien Hotel, in Pointe Aux Piments.

The Minister of Information, Technology, Communication and Innovation, Mr Darsanand Balgobin; the Chairperson of the MRIC, Dr Kaviraj Sukon; the Executive Director of the MRIC, Professor Teeshan Bahorun; and other eminent personalities were present on the occasion.

The National Innovator Hall of Fame

In his address, Minister Balgobin highlighted that the award ceremony was dedicated to all those who came out in their innovative drive during the past few years in the local creative landscape and to celebrate their audacity to challenge the norms as well as their dedication to pushing the boundaries of what was possible and to create a positive impact. “It is through innovation that we find solutions to even the most complex problems, improve our lives, and create a better future for generations to come,” he pointed out.Finally, Minister Balgobin lauded all those who participated in the competition, adding that through their innovative ideas, they were making a difference in the future of the country and would certainly inspire other innovators.

The National Innovator Hall of Fame

The National Innovator Hall of Fame

The National Innovator Hall of Fame has been developed to recognise and reward the contribution of local innovators in sprouting development. The objectives of the National Innovator Hall of Fame are to, namely: recognise and reward local outstanding innovators; fuel innovation and creativity among the local people; gauge the level of innovation and creativity in the Republic of Mauritius; and catalyse the innovation culture in the younger generation.

The competition was divided into five categories: Corporate; Small and Medium Enterprise (SME); Individual; Public Organisation; and Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO). A total of 53 valid applications was received. For each category, the cash prize for the winner was Rs 50,000, and for the runner-up, Rs 25,000. A Special Innovator Prize was also awarded for Rodrigues and Agalega where the cash prize for the winner was Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 for the runner-up.

The National Innovator Hall of Fame

The winners are as follows:

Best Innovator – SME

  • Winner – Chiron Biometric Consulting
  • Runner-up – Flo Mobility Services Ltd / Island Communications Ltd

Best Innovator – Public Organisation

  • Winner – Ministry of National Infrastructure and Community Development
  • Runner-up – Université des Mascareignes

Best Innovator – NGO

  • Winner – Société pour la Promotion des Entreprises Specialisées Ltd
  • Runner-up – Women of Wonders

Best Innovator – Individual

  • Winner – Mr Jilanee Saleem Thupsee
  • Runner-up – Mr Noor Abdurrahman Noor-Ul-Haqq Gurib

Special Jury’s Award

  • Mr Yuvraj Seegolam

Best Innovator – Rodrigues

  • Mr Marsel Herbert Poinen
- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles