19.4 C
Port Louis
Friday, July 19, 2024

Download The App:

Read in French


Pakistan Seeks Permanent Membership Of BRICS, Asks Russia’s Support

Must Read

Pakistan has officially sent its application to become a full time member of BRICS alliance. However, the move is most likely to be objected by its neighbour, India.

Russia’s news agency TASS was informed by Pakistan’s recently appointed ambassador to Russia, Muhammad Khalid Jamali, that Pakistan had submitted an application to become a member of the BRICS in 2024 and was reliant on Russia’s support throughout the process.

Islamabad, he said, intended to enter the group in 2024 when Russia was the group’s president.

Since China is known to be heavily supporting Pakistan, many in the strategic community have questioned whether Beijing is attempting to form a geopolitical bloc to oppose the West.

The inclusion of Pakistan would weaken the fundamental element that unites the member nations, according to sources in the Indian security establishment who spoke with Indian online publication The Print. However, a final decision on any potential support would be made at a later time.

They said that in order to serve as a platform for significant economies outside of the West, the four nations that make up BRIC—Brazil, Russia, India, and China—formed the alliance in St. Petersburg, Russia, in 2006. 2010 saw South Africa join the coalition, forming the BRICS.

Pakistan “was a failure on the economic front” and required bailouts from other nations, according to sources. So from the look of it, it does not make sense. However, the issue will be examined when it is formally brought up to the notice of all member countries,” a source said.

According to a different source, numerous nations have also submitted applications to become members; a decision will only be made when the time comes.

Six new nations were added to the BRICS grouping at the 15th Summit in August of this year in Johannesburg, South Africa: Argentina, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Iran, and Ethiopia. The new membership will take effect in January 2024.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles