20.8 C
Port Louis
Sunday, June 23, 2024

Download The App:

Read in French


Suren Dayal’s Election Petition Rejected

Must Read

It’s the third election petition rejected by the Supreme Court! Suren Dayal did not win his case. The court ruled in favour of Pravind Jugnauth and his two running mates, Leela Devi Dookun-Luchoomun and Yogida Sawmynaden. The judgment was handed down on Friday. Judges David Chan Kan Cheong and Karuna Devi Gunesh-Balaghee rejected all the arguments put forward by Suren Dayal. In most of the cases, they said that the promises made were not only for constituency No. 8 but for the whole country. It may be recalled that this is the third election petition rejected, after Ezra Jhuboo’s petition in No. 14 and Adrien Duval’s petition in No. 17.

Pravind Jugnauth

Suren Dayal considers appeal to Privy Council

The petitioner says the case may not end this Friday. Suren Dayal told reporters mid-day after the Supreme Court’s judgment that he is seriously considering going to the Privy Council. That is, to challenge the decision of Justices David Chan and Karuna Balaghee. He said he is disappointed but is not giving up. His lawyer, Robin Ramburn, said that the Dayal camp “does not agree with the judges’ interpretation”. He added that there is enough to appeal to the Privy Council.

PM has clear mandate, says Yogida

Of the three elected representatives from No 8 whose election was being challenged by Suren Dayal, Yogida Sawmynaden was the only one who was present in the apex court this morning. On his way out of the court, he said that he was confident of a favourable decision from the court. He added that he was happy that the judges had rejected the arguments put forward by Suren Dayal. The former minister said this shows that “the Prime Minister has a clear mandate to run the country”.

Note: Full Judgement below:


- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles