24.7 C
Port Louis
Thursday, December 8, 2022

Download The App:

Read in French


Members Of The New Board Of The Mauritius Society Of Authors (MASA) Elected

Must Read

The MASA elections have been held and six of the seven members of the new board of the Mauritius Society of Authors (MASA) have been elected.

The elected members are Sedley Assonne in the literary category, Darma Mootien and Alexandre Martin, in the Audiovisual category, Steve Augustin and Ganeshan Hurry for the songwriters section, and Jonathan Becherel, in the Other Works category.

Ninety-two ballots were counted, and nine were rejected. The six elected members will join Jimmy Veerapin, who was elected automatically in the Publishers/Producers category.

MASA has Michael Veeraragoo as director and Gerard Louis as president.

Electoral Commissioner Irfan Rahman, who oversaw the election, said that the atmosphere was “good” despite the low turnout. He confirmed that there was a complaint made by one of the candidates. “We have taken note of the complaint. But we have no proof. We are not here to decide,” he explains. The election was held between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. at the office of the Electoral Commissioner in Port-Louis on Sunday, July 10. Returning Officer Vigianee Coonjan announced the results shortly after 1:30 pm. She indicated that nine ballots were rejected.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles