23.8 C
Port Louis
Friday, April 19, 2024

Download The App:

Read in French


Celebrations Kick Off To Mark The Tercentenary Of The Church In Mauritius

Must Read

“1722 – 2022, 300 years with the people of Mauritius” is the theme chosen for this year’s solemn mass on the occasion of the feast of St Louis.

This theme is intended to mark 300 years of the Church’s presence in Mauritius, a presence that has been discreet but active throughout history with the Mauritian people.

The solemn mass, presided over by Cardinal Maurice E. Piat, will take place on Thursday 25 August 2022 at 10 a.m. at the Saint-Louis Cathedral in the presence of the country’s high authorities. The homily will be given by Father Alain Romaine.

On 25 August, two events will mark the kick-off of the tercentenary:

Cardinal Maurice E. Piat will lay a wreath on the tomb of Father Gabriel Igou, who was appointed the first parish priest of Saint-Louis in 1722. The wreath laying will take place during a short ceremony after the mass.

As a reminder, during the earthworks for the construction of the Hawkers Palace at La Poudrière Street in Port-Louis, the workers unearthed three tombstones. One of them was that of Father Gabriel Igou c.m. (1678-1764), one of the first priests to arrive in Isle de France during the French occupation. The tombstone of Father Gabriel Igou, which was declared national heritage of Mauritius on 2 May 2007, was placed in the courtyard of the Saint Louis Cathedral in Port Louis on 25 August 2007.

An exhibition of the works of the late Bishop Amédée Nagapen, historian of the Port Louis diocese.

An exhibition of the books of Bishop Amédée Nagapen, custodian of the memory of the local Church, whose 10th anniversary of death is being celebrated this year, will be available for viewing at the Port Louis bishopric on 25 August. Bishop Nagapen, a prolific author of more than 70 books, devoted his work to a wide range of subjects, including the history of Mauritius and that of the diocese.  His book L’Église à Maurice 1810-1841: les trois premières décennies de la colonisation britannique which won the Prix des Mascareignes in 1986 was also awarded the Prix de l’Association des écrivains de langue française in 1989.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles